About George Cramer

George Cramer is an author, master of creative writing and a licensed Private Investigator.

Of Karuk descent, George attended the Institute of American Indian Arts, where he earned his Master of Fine Arts / Creative Writing – Fiction.

He enjoyed a forty-year career in law enforcement, corporate and private investigations. Over the years, Mr. Cramer has conducted thousands of successful investigations throughout the Americas and Asia. Recognized as an expert in Interviewing and Interrogation, he kept his investigative skills honed by volunteering as a Missing Person’s investigator at the San Leandro, California Police Department.

Mr. Cramer’s short stories and poems have been published in numerous online and printed anthologies. He was the editor-in-chief of Impressions, the Las Positas College 2015 anthology. He is currently working on the second police procedural novel in the Liberty Trilogy. A thriller spanning four decades is in the final stages of development.

His debut novel, The Mona Lisa Sisters, was released in August 2020.

Award-Winning Author

“The day I discovered creative writing, my life changed. A day never goes by that my mind isn’t writing or rewriting a scene. I’m addicted.”

-George Cramer

What People Are Saying…


The Mona Lisa Sisters is a tender journey into the making of a family. The novel is full of careful historical detail and the pleasure of European trains and cities and plenty of mystery to keep the pages turning, but the greatest delight is Lura Grisham herself.

Ramona Ausubel, author Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty 


George Cramer deftly reveals the heart, soul and fears of a remarkable woman as he explores, in a thoroughly engaging and inspiring story, her struggle to triumph over loss…and unexpected love.

Victoria Zackheim, screenwriter, playwright and author of, The Bone Weaver


Told alternately from the perspectives of Lura and Joseph, Cramer’s novel is chock full of information about Paris, New York, and law enforcement in the late 19th century… the work provides a perfect balance of mystery, romance, and history…

Kirkus Reviews
Read Full Review

Public Safety Writers Association Awards

First Place – Fiction Flash Non-Published (Awarded July 12th, 2020)

“Why Me”
Third Place – Fiction Short Story Non-Published (Awarded July 19th, 2015)

“Welcome Home”
Third Place – Flash-Fiction Non-Published (Awarded July 12th, 2020)

A Tale of Robbers and Cops
Fourth Place – Fiction Book Non-Published (Awarded July 12th, 2020)

“Hard Time”
Honorable Mention – Short Story Non-Published (Awarded July 12th, 2020)

Honorable Mention – Fiction Book Non-Published (Awarded July 21st, 2020)

Clubs & Community Involvement

Public Safety Writers Association

Founded in 1997 as the Police Writers Club, the Public Safety Writers Association is open to both new and experienced, published and not yet published writers.

California Writers Club

Founded in 1909, the California Writers Club is one of the nation’s oldest professional clubs for writers and is dedicated to educating writers of all levels in the craft of writing.

Mystery Writers of America

Mystery Writers of America is the premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime-writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre.

Sisters in Crime – National

Sisters in Crime welcomes everyone who supports the mission to promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers

"Hard Time"

George’s short story “Hard Time” was awarded Honorable Mention in the Genre Short Story category of the 89th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition.